Fall Door Decor with Repurposed Rake

fall decor, repurposed rake
Here is the final decoration. I like how the rake shape is like a rustic fan.

I have been admiring our rusty metal rake for awhile and would not let my husband get rid of it when it was being held together with duck tape. I was excited when I saw someone on pinterest had used one in a door decoration. Now I could justify hanging on to this thing. Here is my version and briefly how it went together.

I started with our old metal rake, removing the handle.
I started with our old metal rake, removing the handle.
I wrapped the metal handle part in burlap.
I wrapped the metal handle part in burlap.

Fall flowers
I gathered up my assortment of silk flowers and leaves in my hand and wrapped them in wire.

It was fun to come up with what would look good on a rake. Leaves seemed like a natural. This is certainly not the only way for it to be done and you could use glue to attach some elements. Happy Autumn!

I attached the arrangement to the broom with wire and raffia.
I attached the arrangement to the broom with wire and raffia.
Leave a Reply

